Review of ‘The Last Mountain’ June 9, 2011 by Ken Ward Jr.

If I had a dollar for every time my phone rings and the person on the other line is an author or a filmmaker or an out-of-town journalist who has discovered the mountaintop removal story and is sure they have found something new about it … well, if I had that cash, you all wouldn’t have this blogger to kick around anymore.

I’m ashamed to admit that I long ago stopped trying to read every magazine piece or book or sit down and closely watch every documentary on the subject. Despite the claims by some that the media ignores the issue, mountaintop removal has gotten wide, deep and consistent attention, with that coverage only growing in recent years.

But I did sit down last night and watch a DVD review copy of “The Last Mountain.” I even made my wife watch with me.  The film is getting so much attention that I wanted to check it out. And yes, I wanted to see if the long interview I did with an earlier set of the project’s filmmakers had somehow survived getting tossed on the cutting room floor.

I can’t even remember for sure when the interview was, but I think at least five years ago. They were most interested in talking to me about the stories I did revealing that the new coal silos at Massey Energy’s Goals Coal facility were actually outside the mapped permit area adjacent to Marsh Fork Elementary School.

For the rest of Ken’s review of The Last Mountain click here for Coal Tattoo from the Charleston Gazette

This entry was posted in Coal Tattoo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

