Blog Comments – these are buried, so we hope to start another stream that’s easier to find.

Harry,………You think I have a closed mind lol, however you were the one that said we need to put an immediate stop to MTR. Don’t you think that statement qualify’s as closed minded?

I would love to discuss this issue with you. I’m still waiting for you guy’s and gal’s to answer my questions. How do we replace coal? Someone said get a green job. Where are the green jobs in W.Va and KY.?

I think of myself as a realist. What you guy’s are proposing to do is not realistic and cannot happen overnight without dire consequences.

Mari…………..I’m sure you gave everyone a chance to contribute, but evidently most of it ended up on the cuting room floor.

Again…..You are convicting Massey before the investigation ever started. What ever happened to innocent until proven guilty? Did you check and see what each and every violoation was?

MSHA or State officals can and do shut down mines if conditions warrant.

I’ve seen reports in the local newspapers of health inspection where restaurants did not recieve passing marks and had to be re-inspected at a later date, and they were not closed down. it would be interesting to back three or four years on these establishment and see how many violations the have had. What about the number of violation from harvestiing to when it arrived at the restaurant, really we have no idea what our food has been through.

My, my, my a little thin skined aren’t we? I thought by you being a film maker you would be use to criticism, but I guess not. To answer your question yes I watched your movie, how else would I know it was bais trash, hey I call them as I see them.
IMO you let the enviro’s streach the truth beyond the norm, but hey your an enviro yourself, so what more could one expect.

I know out West the government leases land for mining many different minerals including coal, gas and oil. The Corp of Engineers will take land for lakes and highways, but not for solely mining coal. I’m not aware of any coal company in Appalachia leasing government land. Where is this land?

mari-lynn evans
2010/05/11 at 10:18 am

I do think I made a “balanced ” film and Randy Maggard contributed his opinions as did many others . I gave everyone a chance to tell their stories.

RE UBB: Men did loose their lives, and Massey did ignore safety rules and people were shocked to learn of the many safety violations that were exposed. I did not say Massey was directly responsible, that is for FBI and MSHA investigators.

I know for sure I don’t eat at a restaurant with 500 violations–Federal and State laws require them to be shut down. I worked at a restaurant and I know that health violations will result in closing. Why is it not that way for coal mines?

I do not know who you work for, nor do I really care. When you call my film bias trash, then you have no credibility with me. THERE is no NARRATION. Have you seen the film? Are you saying the coal company or the environmentalists are lying? As for making Coal Country, I could not be prouder of this film. Thank you.

Eminent domain is a law where the government can appropriate private property. In areas of Appalachia, the coal companies are leasing the land , acquired by eminent domain by the Corp of Engineers for mining. That is not what the law intends but it is a loop hole being used now.

Citizen Harry
2010/05/11 at 10:01 am
Wow, Randy… I’m mean Walt, you wrote quite a novel here, since I last posted. I guess arguing with you is pointless. You’ve got an answer for everything, and believe that you are right in everything. That is the stamp of a closed minded individual.

Definition: “lacking tolerance or flexibility or breadth of view; “a brilliant but narrow-minded judge”; “narrow opinions”.

There is no discussion here, just preaching. Good job, Pastor Killjoy!

You determine what I’m thinking, making judgments on me. Why? Because you can’t help it. Case closed. Closed mind. Educated in everything but how to debate.

Thinking like yours will be the end of human evolution. Fortunately, there are other people who don’t live in the dark ages, and are dreamers of a world where we don’t accept poison for our breakfast, lunch and dinner.

I admit my mistakes, and try to learn. I know the world isn’t perfect, at least until humans showed up. I admit that you have some points that merit discussion. However, it’s obvious that you would never open yourself up to new thinking, because you have your mind made up.

I pity closed minded superior thinking people who accept horror as being inevitable.

Harry

kyman
2010/05/10 at 6:16 pm

i am a coal miner, coal feeds my family, and i would really like to keep working to support my family so those of you who do not live in these mountains, please leave us alone, we dont start protest about all the paper your company uses and the forests that are destroyed for you all to write on or print out on this paper so if your not from here focus your opinions on how to live in your own communities

Citizen Harry
2010/05/11

Kyman,
I grew up in “your mountains” and we give a crap about trying to save them from being blown up. Maybe you don’t realize it yet, but even in China, it’s “your community” because eventually it’s all going to catch up to you. We’re on the side of safety for the miners, and finding new ways to get you a new way of life that benefits you. Not one that kills you, and your grandchildren. You may be making money now, but it’s a unsustainable future. So if you’re worried about your grand kids… educate yourself. I don’t know any miner that isn’t worried about his safety. I’d love to know what mine you work in. I know that miners can’t say a dang thing because they value their jobs.
Harry

Walt
2010/05/09 at 9:04 pm

Mari

Who is taking who’s land?

What if a person owns both surface and mineral or just surface rights and want their property mined, and left in an useful manner, isn’t that their right to have it mined. I thought you guys were fighting for the land owner. These people you speak of, weren’t they told that they were only buying the surface rights. If not who’s fault was that, you can’t blame the coal company for that.

The majority of company owned mineral rights including gas, oil and coal were purchased from the individual owners prior to WWII.

Emenent domain is a law where the government can appropriate private property. Coal companies can not use emenent domain to purchase private property.

Walt
2010/05/09 at 8:44 pm | In reply to cleven.

Your right it does take two to talk, now answer this question. How can anyone have a dialogue when one side will not accept anything less than shutting down the industry? You and I both know that is your intent nothing more nothing less.

MSHA has always been in the coal fields. Where is the FBI?

Coal’s intimidation, that’s laughable? Who’s been caught tresspassing? Who’s been caught breaking into business and hanging banners? Who’s barges into office buildings and chainging themselves to the doors? So who is trying to intimidate who? My suggestion for you is to look into the mirror.

Where are the green jobs? or What are the green jobs? Gee whiz guy if they’re out there let everyone know, I don’t know if your awaret or not but umemployment is around 10%. Sorry that was my mistake I forgot you’re probably not aware of that sort of thing, guessing that you don’t work and more than likely never had.

Why don’t you get a job any job, green or not I don’t care then you can pay your taxes like the other 50% that do.

Walt
2010/05/09 at 6:45 pm | In reply to WV hollergirl.

If you must know I was born in Eastern Kentucky, in a mining community and still live there today. So I am very familar with the going’s on in mining communities. I don’t necessarily believe the 5% you quote, but also realize where you get you info.

“Quailty of life, lifes in dangered’ Again your reading straight from the enviro’s handbook. Property values in E Ky. increased significantly during the 80′s, 90′s and 00′s because of MTR, maybe you should check with the local PVA’s instead of reading out of the handbook.

Nope all of the land owners I’ve talked to still live right here, some have built new homes others use it for farming or what ever they want to.

This Dr. you speak of has proved this? How many studies over the years have proved things only to be refuted later, so what makes you think this is any different. How are children being poisoned?

Here’s a question for you, enviro’s are backing the new florescent light bulbs, you know the ones that contain mercury, because they use less energy,…….by the way aren’t you guy’s compaining about mercury levels being to high. So are you more concerned about everyones health or saving a litttle energy?

Once upon a time “peer reviewed” may have ment something but not today, these people just say I’ll review your book if you review mine. A good example would be all of the global warming freaks out there weren’t their books/studies peer reviewed. In case you missed it google climate gate it’s some good reading.

Walt
2010/05/09 at 6:13 pm | In reply to mari-lynn evans.

I have several friends and neighbors who either work or have worked for Massey, and overwhelming majority of them have postive comments concerning Massey’s mines. I have to wonder why would they take down line curtaiins after they’re already hung, wouldn’t that waste more time than to leave them hanging wouldn’t that cut into their production time. Wouldn’t that defeat the purpose of your comment?

Mari you said you wanted to make a fair movie about the coal industry, now your say that 29 men lost their lives due to Massey’s ignoring safety rules and greed. Let me remind you that the investigation has not started and your already tried and convicted Massey. What do you say we let the investigation take it’s course and if Massey is guilty then they should be punished, but not before.

Your comment about eating at a restaurant with 500 violation, well how do you know your not. Whenever you go into restaurant do you ask to see their violation history for the past three or four years? I doubt it.
When you purchased your car did you check the violation history of the auto maker or previous owner? Again I doubt it.

You and Harry have both insinuated that I work for a coal company, well if you must know I do not, however my company does some work for the coal industry as well as others. I realize that if coal were to disappear from our economy the majority of the smaller buisness would also disappear.

What’s really heartbreaking is to see people such as youself, promote such bias trash as coal country, all you are doing is spreading misiniformation. I personally overheard you tell people in Charleston WV. that you wanted to make a true unbiased documentary then later learned that your project was funded by the Serria Club. IMO you lied to many people, I just hope your proud of yourself.

Walt
2010/05/09 at 5:37 pm | In reply to Citizen Harry.

Harry…..I’ll give you credit where credit is do, at least you used a reasonable depth of 200 feet, most enviro’s still claim 800-1000 feet of mountaintops are being removed.

Bear dens,…..did you say bear dens lol, and just how many have been destroyed 1 or maybe 2? Since your so concernend about the wildlife I assume that you want everyone to become vegetarians, that would also take care of hunters. I’m sure you also want everyone to stop driving cars since they kill millions of animals annually, let’s not forget about airplanes, how many times do flocks of birds fly into those huge enginees. I know we can all use windmills,…..no they also kill birds, and we have to install new power lines. Well I guess we will have to rely on solar power,…..but don’t these huge solar farms harm your little critters and guess what they also require new power lines. Now were down to hydro and nuclear, well if we use hydro then won’t we’ll need to build huge dams, and I know how you guy’s feel about the small one’s that coal companies want to build, can you imagine all of the natural ecosystems that would be destroyed by those huge dams. I guess that leaves us with nuclear power, but wait we don’t have an approved waste disposal site in the U.S. never mind the fact that we need uranuim which has to be mined, so I guess that nuclear power is a double whammie, you need to mine uranuim and no approved waste disposal. So what do you guy’s and gal’s suggest we us to replace coal as an energy souce?

Excuse me, but on 5/5/10 didn’t you say “we are not agaiinst coal companies” and “that we want dialogue toward positive change and to put an end to MTR”. I think that sounds hyprocritical don’t you.

Once again, I must give you credit where credit is do, at least you went public with your agenda. First let’s stop surface mining, then underground coal mining, then oil and gas. Now that we are freed of all fossil what do we do. Any Idea’s?

I have several friends and family members that have worked in the UMWA, and their stories are very similar. During the 70′s and 80′s miners would strike for any reason, legit or not. I’ve heard of stories where they would strike if there was no soap in the bath house, or find some reason to strike during hunting season, they would strike if the mine up the road was on strike. There are to many stories of this nature to share here. Actions such as these helped destroy the union not Massey or Blankenship.

You may want to watch the news……MSHA and Obama have already said that the coal company is at fault before the investigation started.

mari-lynn evans
2010/05/09 at 11:48 am

I loved Sen Byrd saying that mining is NOT A RIGHT. It is a privledge to be given to people who will mine responsibly. Just because you bought mineral rights generations ago for cents on the dollar, or maybe just gave someone a sewing machine along with false promises, that does not mean it is right to take that land now for MTR. Almost 80% of mineral rights in coal country is owned by coal or others. How can you expect that these companies would do anything other than mine it? Is that the best for the people? Is it best for the land? Is it best for WV? Those are the real questions. Slavery was permitted once. That did not make it right. I would be happy to discuss how land is “taken” in WV, since I have personal experiences with eminent domain. Why can people just not treat others and their land with respect? Why is money the only thing coal companies hold up as reason for the right to mine?

cleven
2010/05/09 at 11:39 am

The time for dialogue has passed. It passed when it became clear that there was never going to be dialogue on the part of the coal companies. They do not listen, they do not hear. It takes 2 to talk. But, it took UBB to bring the FBI and MSHA in to coal fields. Now, where will you all hide? Your tactics of intimidation, of greed over good may be over. Get a green job and do some constructive with your life.

bulltown1959
2010/05/09 at 11:34 am

Walt

“Studying” is the word you are trying to spell.

bulltown1959
2010/05/09 at 11:32 am | In reply to WV hollergirl.

I read Stella’s statements about how she loved miners and mountains. Then she says she is pro coal? I guess it may be confusing for some folks to understand that their water is being poisoned, their air ruined, their children in harm’s way, the blasting, the intimidation………. WAKE UP! Stella is no more pro coal than I am and I think I am an environmentalist. Another puppet of King Coal. King Coal, Massey, the death of miners, the death of mountains. Think again, Stella. If you love the mountains and people of Appalachia–honey, you are not pro coal. You are pro Appalachia.

Craig Knight
2010/05/08 at 10:37 pm | In reply to Please comment on the restoration photos! – Randall Maggard « Coal Country.

Classic hypocrisy! Randall Maggard says “these are the photos the MEDIA NEVER SHOWS” The imnplication being “the media” manipulate facts to fabricate innaccurate “stories” while choosing among select images to utilize in the process of validating their biased and inaccurate viewpoint.

“Please comment on the restoration photos! – Randall Maggard SEE PHOTOS ”

WV hollergirl
2010/05/07 at 3:34 pm

Just listen to any song written about coal – they are all sad, morbid songs full of misery. The message is how bad coal is.
I find it so very ironic for pro coal folk to smugly promote coal in song.
The songs they sing are anti-coal and it is as if the pro coal singer is either “the queen of denial” or completely ignorant to the meaning in the lyrics – they are just singing words. WOW- even Parton here knows has bad coal is. She is just covering up for coal – because coal “brought her to the dance”- never mind that coal is poisoning and blasting those of us that live near coal–never mind that little children are being poisoned.
Everyone deserves a safe place to live as well as a safe work place. How dare Parton sing “These are my mountains”- Hey parton- they are blowing them up and you are supporting that.
Shame on you Parton. Why don’t you pray for us that are being blasted with 3 1/2 million pounds of explosives daily. for mountaintop removal that you support. Thanks for supporting the flooding that it causes too.
Also Parton’s figures are completely wrong on coal fired electricity- coal fired is down to 45%. Time for wind and solar.

“Come on” Randall Maggard, don’t you have “any comments” to Kevin Boyd’s question regarding effects of mountaintop strip mining on local residents health, lives, and generational heritage? While it is certainly appreciated (when it actually occurs), revegetation activities of land parcels is NOT the entirety of “reclamation”.

This entry was posted in Blog Comments Update. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Blog Comments – these are buried, so we hope to start another stream that’s easier to find.

  1. Mike G says:

    I am rather new to getting so directly involved in this issue of mountain top removal coal mining—-and I am not from West Virginia, but I did have people who were German coal miners in Pennslyvannia, even though the generations that did that–they are long gone–their kids all went on to get educated, left those areas and are now doing all sorts of things living in places from those mountains.

    Living where I do in SW Ohio, coal touches my life too since the power company that serves this area, nearly all of their power generated comes from coal—coal that comes from many of the mountain top mines.

    I just came back from spending a few very intense days down in the coal fields of West Virginia—–putting nearly a thousand miles on my car in those few short days traveling about, meeting with folks who are fighting MTR mining, hearing their stories—and even though I do admit that I was leaning to be against MTR mining –from hearing the stories of those who live “up close and personal” everyday with both forms of coal mining—-there is no doubt that I am foursquare against MTR mining and want it stopped.

    I am realistic enough to know that coal, as bad as it really is–it sure as hell is not “clean” or “carbon neutral!!”, coal is going to remain a big part of the mix of what we use to generate our power–but no matter what you do think about coal—one thing is for sure—at some point–even if there is no stopping MTR and no brakes on deep coal mining—the last piece of coal in the not too distant future will be played out in those areas–and for the folks who live in the coal fields of West Virginia, Kentucky, Virginia, Tennessee and even in SE Ohio where new strip pit permits are being sought—–what will the people there have left when King Coal has moved on to pull coal from the ground in places like China, Russia and elsewhere, places that the coal companies like Massie are already looking to establish operations???

    For all the money that King Coal makes off the hard work of “regular folks”–they don’t give you’all squat!!

    Sure—a few folks make some money–but the number who get on with the coal mines is a number that goes down year by year, even as the tonnage of coal that gets pulled out, processed and loaded on the river tows and long line trains increases.

    At what cost has coal had on the folks who live in the coal producing regions?? In spite of those counties where coal is found, where the value of the resources is the highest amount of anyplace in the country—-but yet when it comes to those measures of things like life expectancy, educational levels, income and what have you—those rates are among the bottom of any place in America.

    At least in the days of the Robber Barrons—-they had some philantropic things they did like build and stock libraries like the Carnegies did—these companies don’t give ya’all diddly!!!

    Wherever I have lived in my life–from places in the SE like Florida and Georgia–I have had a deep and abiding love of the land, water and air—enjoying those places on foot, bike, by boat or what have you.

    In coastal Georgia—I joined organizations that helped to preserve and protect the coastal regions where so much life begins.

    The same when I lived in Florida where I joined in in efforts to preserve and protect the Everglades and the areas adjacent to that great natural place, later I was down in the Florida Keys and took part in efforts to help save those areas.

    I am pretty much sick at this current situation with the destruction and blow out of the Deep Horizon drilling platform and the unsuccessful attempts to cap the leaking oil–it could turn out that they may never get the oil leaks stopped and the entire Gulf of Mexico regions from Mexico, to Texas, Louisiana, Misssissippi, Alabama and Florida are all irrevocably damaged and changed, with the oil eventually making its way into the Atlantic and threatening everything from the Caribbean to the coast of Newfoundland, Canada and even to the British Isles themselves, the oil carried along by the Gulf Stream. Since in this part of the US–much of our weather is affected by weather generated in the Gulf of Mexico. With summer coming and hurricane season not far behind too–how long will it be until we start to get weather from the Gulf—possibly carrying little oil droplets aloft to fall with the rain on vast regions of the country?? What will that do to us all???

    One thing is for sure—we are learning that “cheap energy” of all sorts is hardly that—-there is no such thing as cheap energy—we are all going to pay and pay and pay for it–dearly.

    As the title of a recent movie about the early days of oil drilling was titled: “There Will Be Blood”–that is certainly the case when it comes to getting our energy—the blood of the 29 miners at UBB, the several who lost their lives in that mine in Kentucky, the oil cats who died on Deep Horizon and certainly the blood of the creatures that MTR mining kills we don’t think about and the creatures of the Gulf of Mexico that will die thanks to this oil “spill” and of course–any of us who live downwind of coal fired powerplants pay a price too.

    To the folks of the coal fields—-I don’t hate you and I don’t want to see you all suffer—that is why I want to try to help preserve your way of life—beyond coal mining–the way of life you have in those pretty mountains and hollers—that your connection to such a special place needs to be preserved.

    Those of us who are against MTR are not your enemies–we are your friends and allies—brothers and sisters since we share a common humanity–and that we do love the land, anyplace a special place of God’s creation happens to be—I equally love and respect the land–whether its a coastal Georgia marshland, the Everglades, the Grand Canyon or Kayford Mountain–I don’t want to see God’s creation destroyed in the name of greed or whatever.

    Can you look at a mountain that has been mined the way they do–then look over at the nearby ones that have not yet fallen and think that a “reclaimed” mountain is as good looking as the ones God made?? I think not.

    And here is the big question for ya’all–do you really in your heart of hearts think that companies like Massie Energy and the rest really have your best interests at heart?? Do you really think that you matter to them beyond the role that you play as a cog in their coal extracting machine?? I would bet my right and left gonads that if they could find a way—they would automate every last job they could in both the deep and surface mines so they didn’t have to hire bothersome people that they have to actually pay anything to.

    Just hope that the science of artificial intelligence doesn’t get so good that they can simply install operating systems on every piece of equipment to do the work the relative handfull of miners who do remain now perform. Give it time–and if they can find a way to do that–you can sure as hell bet they haven’t thought of that!!

    Then what will ya all have if that would come to pass??

    You would have nothing–no mountains, your health destroyed, your proud history wiped away—I bet the companies are gonna be so glad to blast down Blair Mountain!!! Erase the physical part of a history that doesn’t much get talked about anymore anyway. When Blair Mountain is gone—-then that just shows you folks—the managers of the coal companies don’t care a whit about your history!!!

    I can tell you folks—in the future I am going to have enough money coming to me that I can afford to live the way I want–and by that I mean that when the time comes—I will be able to afford a place in both Florida or some other southern coastal location—providing those areas are not destroyed by crude oil–and I can afford a place in the mountains too—-I could consider buying a place in West Virginia–but I don’t want to look out on denuded nubs of what was once were mountains—I want to be deep in them—-so I will get a place in some spot like in the Smokies near Asheville, NC, near Gatlinburg, or maybe the north Georgia mountains near Rabun Gap or some such place—–I can say one thing–thank the good Lord that He didn’t put coal in those mountains too!!!

    Hell–I thought that clear cutting timber opertions in some of those places was bad enough—I will take that anyday over MTR–at least they leave the mountains themselves intact!!!!

  2. mari-lynn says:

    Walt

    What do you think about us? We care about miners, we care about every job. But at what expense do you think is fair? 98% of Appalachian DO NOT WORK FOR COAL. How can 2% of the population push their singular agenda on the masses? I do agree that the end of coal will come from coal itself. When I first began filming and met Randy Maggard and Don Blanenship, I knew that coal would expose itself if the light of a camera was on it. That’s why I felt so compelled to show this story. My film had no narration, it was only people telling their “truths” I did not set out to make an anti coal film, I still don’t think that is what the film speaks to, but clearly most people feel it shows coal in a light that is not favorable. I did all I could to be respectful and balanced. I cannot manipulate how people feel or what they see with their own two eyes.

  3. Admin says:

    Mari-Lynn Evans: Walt:
    I did give everyone a chance to contribute and you have no more certainly about what I edited that I have about what you ate for dinner. You are speaking about something you clearly have no experience or knowledge. No one is convicting Massey before the investigation. And yes, I did, read the summary of every one of the hundreds of violations. They were shocking to me, and to most of the world. It is troubling to me that you are not concerned about those violations. In making your point, you are negating your position by overextending your statements. Again, I let people speak their truth. Maybe you might want to listen again and hear the other side to this issue. There are always two sides, not always equal. Finally, in response to your question, there is land in Southern WV being leased by coal companies from the DNR. Some of that land was acquired by eminent domain for flooding and other purposes. Not for coal mining.

  4. Citizen Harry says:

    Randy… I mean “Walt”,
    You said:
    Harry,………You think I have a closed mind lol, however you were the one that said we need to put an immediate stop to MTR. Don’t you think that statement qualify’s as closed minded?

    No, Stopping MTR has the urgency of stopping your carotid artery from bleeding you dry.

    I would love to discuss this issue with you. I’m still waiting for you guy’s and gal’s to answer my questions. How do we replace coal? Someone said get a green job. Where are the green jobs in W.Va and KY.?

    Where is the money for research? I hear Don Blankenship is the leader in the call for figuring that one out.

    I think of myself as a realist. What you guy’s are proposing to do is not realistic and cannot happen overnight without dire consequences.

    MTR could stop tomorrow, and no one would suffer. I have dropped my electric bill by almost 1/2 since last year, when I started to realize the problem. How much has your bill dropped this year, compared to last?
    Harry

  5. Walt says:

    Harry,

    lol …. how are you not closed minded?

    What money? You guy’s have been talking green jobs for years, shouldn’t you have figured that out by know? How in the world can you bring Blankenship into the green jobs issue.

    I’m still waitng for all of those green jobs to open up.

    I beg to differ…..surface mining accounts for about 40% of the coal produced in W.Va. annually.

    I’m happy you cut your elec. bill. BTW what was the problem?

  6. Walt says:

    Mari

    FY 2009 there were around 720,000 jobs in W.Va nearly 15,000 of those belonged to coal miners, add another 75,000 jobs for mine related services and then add countless other jobs in stores, shopping centers etc. You see your 2% of miners supports much more than many realize.

    Sorry, but I don’t buy your innocent intent line, I firmly believe that this anti coal film was planned from day one.

    All I know about your editing process is what I’ve read on this site, and they said you interviewed several people who did not appear in your movie. So I assumed that those clips ended up on the cutting room floor. Am I wrong?

    You read everyone? Ok how many were paper violations? How many were for water puddles less than six inches deep? How may were minor vilations that were corrected within minutes? and so on.

    What makes you think I’m not concerned about the violations. I am very concerned about the serious ones, but many of these are very minor violations that were corrected quickly and posed no danger to the workers.

    You may have let the people spek the truth, but apparently you left it all on the floor.

  7. Citizen Harry says:

    Randy, I mean “Walt”… this bickering back and forth is getting old. I think I’ve made my point, and you’ve shown your intent, and your King Coal agenda. When you have something to say that is actually meaningful considering the topic, I’ll be glad to engage you in talking about it. Until then, I’m just giving you a platform to spew your 20th century thinking.
    You seem to always need to have the last word, but here’s mine frame an end to this conversation.

    “Lunacy”.

    Harry

  8. mari-lynn evans says:

    I realize you think that Coal Country is an anti coal film, now you think it was planned to show the worst of coal. Again, I only put in the film what I had—the interviews from the people. Was Randy Maggard or Gene Kitts or Darcy anti coal? If I did want to make a anti coal film, why would I spend weeks with those people? Those are your opinions, and I don’t have to share them. Some of the people who we interviewed that were not on the film were Larry Gibson, Janet Keating from OVEC, Maria Guneo, Bo Webb and scores of other activists. Would you like for me to have included them? Those were the interviews that ended up on the “cutting room floor” I think I used everything from the pro coal speakers. There were so few of them who would appear on camera. If you would like, we can put the interviews up on the web from Bo Webb, Larry Gibson and the other community folks. Sorry I don’t have more from the pro coal side but I feel grateful for the ones who did have the courage to speak their minds on camera. Some folks just like to share their feelings or complain in private. I think Randy is someone that showed the courage of his convictions. I respect him for that and I respect his right to that opinion, same for Gene.

  9. Walt says:

    Harry……I’m starting to worry about you and your apparent man-crush on Randy…..then again if it makes you happy. Who am I too stand in the way of your happiness?

    Excuse me, but aren’t you the one that wanted to debate. I’ve ask you a couple of questions, the latest being about green jobs, that you can’t seem to answer. Why? Because there are no green jobs and more than likely never will be. You seem to be a typical environmentalist, you know one ho has not thought out the consequences of what will happen if/when their plan is implemented. First you want to stop surface mining which accounts for about 40% of the coal produced in West Virginia. Need I remind you that West Virginia generates over 90% of it’s energy from coal and that the nation generates around 50% of it’s electricity from coal. What will happen when we lose nearly 40% of our energy source? Can we rely on wind, solar, nuclear or hydro to replace the 40% loss? Not today, we can’t nor will we be able to tomorrow. If we stop using coal today with no replacement, who does without? Will it be the hospitals, nursing homes, businesses or the average citizen. Here’s an idea before you rid the world of fossil fuels, lets develop alternative sources and as these sources are developed then and only then do we slowly cut back on fossil fuels.

    Lunacy: A prime example of lunacy is when someone wants to eliminate 90% of the energy source when there is no replacement available.

    Harry…How did you cut your electric bill on half? I’d be interested to know, the only way I can think of is to cut the usage. My water heater and heatpump/air conditioner are the main hogs, I guess I could use only cold water and turn my heat down to 60 and the A/C up to 80, but that would be stupid wouldn’t it. lol

  10. Walt says:

    Mari,

    What you had? Or What you wanted to have? There’s a big difference between the two.

    I remember reading a post from Randy asking you why the interviews with several others were not shown.

    You said you used everything from pro coal. Randy said you didn’t. So someone is lying so is it you or Randy?

    Can you tell me how many minutes were pro coal verses minutes anti coal?

    Films about coal and Appalachia are made with one intent and that is to make each look as bad as possible.

  11. Walt says:

    Mike,
    Let’s see…..while in Georgia and Florida you joined organizations that helped preserve and protect coastal regions, everglades and the keys. Do you really expect anyone to believe that you were undecided on the issue of MTM.

    Mike, you seem to be concerned about pollution, off shore drilling and all of the little creatures which you claim MTM kills, yet you drive nearly one thousand miles to realize something you already knew. Do you realize the amount of pollution you emitted during your little trip? The amount of oil consumed? Or the number of creatures you endangered during your travels? Isn’t this hypocritical?

    “Don’t give a squat” lol. I guess making triple the average salary, having medical and dental insurance that is way better than most other working in the region. If being able to afford better homes, cars and to buy the extra’s or send my children to college is considered squat by you, then I’ll take squat any day of the week.

    “Life Expectancy” I suppose ones diet, lack of exercise, or alcohol and drug abuse wouldn’t have anything to do with it. Would it?

    “Not my enemy” Your trying to take away my job, my home, my cars and my lifestyle yet your not my enemy? What have you been smoking? With friends like you who needs enemies? Really are you that stupid?

    Dusting off the enviro hand book again I see. I love it whenever you guy’s start with the new technology equals less coal miners scenario. Are you suggesting that we revert back to the days of the pick and shovel and using explosives to loosen the coal. Correct me if I’m wrong but weren’t thousands of miners killed annually? Is that really what you want?
    Name me one industry that has not improved their production process with technology? Name me one the requires as many employees now as they did a 75 years ago?

    Mike, if you really want to stop big coal and big oil companies, then let me suggest that you simply stop using electricity and stop driving your car.

    FYI the science of A.I. is being used today, in about every aspect of society. A prime example is the auto industry. BTW how many employees does it take to build a car today compared to 75 years ago.

    Why did God place mineral deposits here on Earth? Did God make a mistake? I think not! God gave us the ability to use these minerals, they are here for a reason.

    Once again I ask any and all enviro’s this simple question. What do we use to replace coal as an energy source once coal is outlawed?

  12. Citizen Harry says:

    Black and White. I wasn’t going to contribute to “Walt” raves, but without replying to him personally, which really get’s nobody anywhere, I guess it’s worth the effort to at least reply about the subjects he brings up.

    You see, people like “Walt” think in Black and White. Right or Wrong. No in between. He doesn’t like me, or “environs”… or “tree huggers”. I bet he has a bunch of problems liking anyone that doesn’t believe what he believes. It’s pretty obvious. Sad.

    You see, it’s about realizing that our economy (which by the way, is crashing hard due to two more meaningless wars meant to stuff the pockets of the war machine, Wall street greed, and corporate might in Washington.) can’t sustain the kind of “life” that Walt enjoys. He asked me how I reduced my energy bill to half, and seemed to deride me for my efforts. He wasn’t willing to bring his AC up to 80, and heater down to 60. He needs two SUV’s, and anything else that short term capitalistic thinking can bring a person. The American Dream.

    Well, it is a dream. Because it’s UNSUSTAINABLE. I bet “Walt” is a person who thinks global warming is not made by man. How can you blame him? He’s been taught by the media, commercials, and school that it’s good to “use” God’s gifts. Like minerals.

    I think that God gave us a bigger gift. God’s non-interference. Then our art, love, care, and compassion for all beings would truly be meaningful. Right now, life on earth is dying off in a truly alarming rate… more than ever in scientific history. Yes, “Walt”, I care about the myriad life forms that are suffering and dying over an oil slick that will be here for hundreds of years. I do also care that the Vietnamese immigrants that came to Louisiana are not going to be able to fish, or shrimp, and will be forgotten by the government. I do care about the shrimp and fishing boats that will not be able to do what they do for years. I do care that the ocean will be more hurt than ever.

    So it doesn’t matter much what “Walt” has to say. It’s that kind of human evolution that is mimicked in “Cause and Effect”. So it’s beauty, or ugliness is readily apparent. Easy to see in words.

    Keep writing “Walt”. We are forever blessed with a good example of what we must teach our children to never be. Black and White thinkers.

    Citizen Harry

  13. Anonymous says:

    Harry…your rants and ramblings are very entertaining to say the least, it is interesting how you are trying to divert the discussion away from the topic when you can’t answer the questions. Did you learn this tactic in environmentalism 101?

    Here is a summary of the questions you’ve been ask to date, and have failed to answer.
    1) Appalachia is a poor region. Where would we be without the coal industry? The regions only industry.
    2) How does the coal industry force people to sell their land?
    3) Once fossil fuels are outlawed, what do we do?
    4) What are the green jobs in Appalachia?
    5) Where are the green jobs in Appalachia?
    6) How do we replace coal?
    7) Again…Where are the green jobs in Wva. and Ky.
    8) What will happen when we lose nearly 40% of our energy source?
    9) Can we rely on wind, solar, nuclear or hydro to replace coal?
    10) With no replacement for coal, who does without?

    I knew it……I knew it……YOU DID TURN YOUR AC UP to 80 degrees and your heat down to 60 degrees. lol You do realize that the pittance of energy you saved by living like a hermit, was used by your fearless leader AlGore don’t you, his private jet used more energy rolling out of the hanger than you saved all year. lol Speaking of AlGore, why is it ok for him to jet across the world in the name of GW and expect everyone else to do without. Is that right? What about AlGores new 9 million dollar mansion on the ocean no less, (What about the raising ocean levels shouldn’t he afraid that his mansion may be under water in a few years?) and talk about corporate greed, just how much money has he made since leaving office? Gore’s corporations have a higher profit margin than either big coal or big oil. Wouldn’t it better serve AlGore and his GW causes if he were to conduct more teleconferences instead of jetting across the globe?

    I’m guessing next on you agenda is to have the government control everyone’s thermostats. Am I right? Would you be content if the elderly were forced to keep their homes at 60 degrees during the winter? I remember as a child going to my grandparents house it was always around 80 degrees and my grandmother would still wear a sweater trying to stay warm. If you get your wish their home would be 60 degrees and yet you try to portray yourself as a caring and loving person, who cares about all of God’s creatures except the elderly. Is it your intent for these people to freeze to death? Comrade Harry.

    Why is it that I’m not surprised that you think GW is man made? I’ll give you a chance to convert me over to your side, if you can answer one simple question. First you can’t deny the fact that the earth has encountered many warming and cooling cycles during it’s existence, it is also fact that CO2 levels have been much higher than today’s levels. My question is. What caused previous warming and cooling cycles prior to the industrial revolution? Remember there were fewer people, no automobiles and there were no coal plants.

    Why is it that you can stand by your ideas, and still be objective, but when anyone else stands by their ideas they are thinking only in black and white or right or wrong?
    Wouldn’t that be considered hypocritical?

    To suggest that I don’t like you or enviro’s or treehuggers indicates to me how misguided you actually are. Instead of bashing me or my ideas why don’t you answer my questions? However if you want to take the low road, then so be it.

    FYI, I only need one SUV and yes I have worked very hard during my life and yes, under this great Capitalistic Society. I have earned the fruits of my labor, not have them given to me by my government. Where as you want to be a leach on the wealthy to take from them because your to lazy to earn it for yourself.

    To recap, I’ve ask a few more questions in addition to the 10 listed above.

    11) Would you be content if the elderly were forced to keep their homes at 60 degrees during the winter?
    12) Is it your intent for these people to freeze to death?
    13) What caused previous warming and cooling cycles prior to the industrial revolution?

    Don’t feel bad because you can’t answer many of the questions, more knowledgeable people than yourself couldn’t answer them either.

  14. walt says:

    Harry…your rants and ramblings are very entertaining to say the least, it is interesting how you are trying to divert the discussion away from the topic when you can’t answer the questions. Did you learn this tactic in environmentalism 101?

    Here is a summary of the questions you’ve been ask to date, and have failed to answer.
    1) Appalachia is a poor region. Where would we be without the coal industry? The regions only industry.
    2) How does the coal industry force people to sell their land?
    3) Once fossil fuels are outlawed, what do we do?
    4) What are the green jobs in Appalachia?
    5) Where are the green jobs in Appalachia?
    6) How do we replace coal?
    7) Again…Where are the green jobs in Wva. and Ky.
    8) What will happen when we lose nearly 40% of our energy source?
    9) Can we rely on wind, solar, nuclear or hydro to replace coal?
    10) With no replacement for coal, who does without?

    I knew it……I knew it……YOU DID TURN YOUR AC UP to 80 degrees and your heat down to 60 degrees. lol You do realize that the pittance of energy you saved by living like a hermit, was used by your fearless leader AlGore don’t you, his private jet used more energy rolling out of the hanger than you saved all year. lol Speaking of AlGore, why is it ok for him to jet across the world in the name of GW and expect everyone else to do without. Is that right? What about AlGores new 9 million dollar mansion on the ocean no less, (What about the raising ocean levels shouldn’t he afraid that his mansion may be under water in a few years?) and talk about corporate greed, just how much money has he made since leaving office? Gore’s corporations have a higher profit margin than either big coal or big oil. Wouldn’t it better serve AlGore and his GW causes if he were to conduct more teleconferences instead of jetting across the globe?

    I’m guessing next on you agenda is to have the government control everyone’s thermostats. Am I right? Would you be content if the elderly were forced to keep their homes at 60 degrees during the winter? I remember as a child going to my grandparents house it was always around 80 degrees and my grandmother would still wear a sweater trying to stay warm. If you get your wish their home would be 60 degrees and yet you try to portray yourself as a caring and loving person, who cares about all of God’s creatures except the elderly. Is it your intent for these people to freeze to death? Comrade Harry.

    Why is it that I’m not surprised that you think GW is man made? I’ll give you a chance to convert me over to your side, if you can answer one simple question. First you can’t deny the fact that the earth has encountered many warming and cooling cycles during it’s existence, it is also fact that CO2 levels have been much higher than today’s levels. My question is. What caused previous warming and cooling cycles prior to the industrial revolution? Remember there were fewer people, no automobiles and there were no coal plants.

    Why is it that you can stand by your ideas, and still be objective, but when anyone else stands by their ideas they are thinking only in black and white or right or wrong?
    Wouldn’t that be considered hypocritical?

    To suggest that I don’t like you or enviro’s or treehuggers indicates to me how misguided you actually are. Instead of bashing me or my ideas why don’t you answer my questions? However if you want to take the low road, then so be it.

    FYI, I only need one SUV and yes I have worked very hard during my life and yes, under this great Capitalistic Society. I have earned the fruits of my labor, not have them given to me by my government. Where as you want to be a leach on the wealthy to take from them because your to lazy to earn it for yourself.

    To recap, I’ve ask a few more questions in addition to the 10 listed above.

    11) Would you be content if the elderly were forced to keep their homes at 60 degrees during the winter?
    12) Is it your intent for these people to freeze to death?
    13) What caused previous warming and cooling cycles prior to the industrial revolution?

    Don’t feel bad because you can’t answer many of the questions, more knowledgeable people than yourself couldn’t answer them either.

Leave a Reply

